Select Page

Janie Fricke, known to many in the country world for her hits in the ‘80s, is taking a spin at bluegrass with some fresh interpretations of many of her beloved tunes. Her release, Country Side of Bluegrass, is in stores today amid glowing reviews.  In partnership with New Music Deals, the album is available on iTunesAmazon (Download)Amazon (CD) and at Ernest Tubb Record Shops.

The 13-track collection is produced by Bil VornDick, whose credits also include Alison Krauss, Bela Fleck, and Marty Robbins, and features some of the finest pickers in the industry. VornDick had this to say about the project, “Janie’s voice and presentation are among the best, ever! The album will make you smile with enjoyment.”

Reviews of the bluegrass release share VornDick’s positive comments:

No Depression states, “This mix has a real refreshing sound…This is definitely a CD to buy, if you are a fan of country and bluegrass, Splendid!”

Scripps rates the album an “A” and says, “the earthy string music sure brings out a rich new country character even fans of her original sound should enjoy.”

Bluegrass Notes declares, “If you’re discovering her for the first time, you’re in for a treat.”

The Tennessean buzzes, “Bluegrass fans will find little to quarrel with… If you liked Fricke’s country songs, there’s no reason you won’t like the bluegrass versions.”

Music News Nashville also sings Fricke’s praises, “This album is a great reminder of how timeless her talent remains after all this time – just like a fine wine!”

Fricke had a wonderful time recording this album and is looking forward to the year ahead promoting it and touring with 2011 ICM “Inspirational Bluegrass Artist of the Year,” The Roys. “This is an amazingly fun journey, redoing my country hits bluegrass-style, and the response is great!” said Fricke. “I look forward to working shows with The Roys backing me up on many concerts as we tour this year!”

For a list of tour dates and for further information on Janie Fricke, please visit

Track List:

  1. “You Don’t Know Love”
  2. “Goodbye Broken Heart”
  3. “Do Me With Love”
  4. “Faithless Love”
  5. “He’s A Heartache”
  6. “Please Help Me, I’m Falling (In Love With You)”
  7. “She’s Single Again”
  8. “I’ll Need Someone To Hold Me (When I Cry)”
  9. “Down To My Last Broken Heart”
  10. “Tell Me A Lie”
  11. “It Ain’t Easy Bein’ Easy”
  12. “Don’t Worry ‘Bout Me Baby”
  1. “Ring of Fire” (Bonus Track)